Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

Did any of you follow the recent #bblogger Twitter chat about lipstick? As a relative newbie to the world of lip colour, I participated with interest and noticed that, alongside Mac, Nars was one of the the most popular high-end brands, receiving rave reviews for their lip products.

I found myself nodding at the computer screen – earlier this year I bought my first Nars lip pencil in Mexican Rose shade. While I was busy debating what shade to buy, choosing a texture didn’t really crop up. It was winter so I gravitated to the Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil, figuring be less drying than a matte product.

After receiving a Nars makeover at the recent Harvey Nichols blogger event, the brick red shade I tried stuck in my mind, so a couple of weeks ago I went back to buy it. Typically, I couldn’t remember the name of the shade I’d tried, so after several trials with a very patient Space.NK. consultant, I settled on Cruella, a devilish matte red that I’ve worn pretty much every day since I bought it.

I’ve swatched it, below, but given the deep, blood red shade, it does look ever so slightly like I had an accident with a kitchen knife – apologies for that! Cosmetic gore aside, I find the Velvet Matte Lip Pencil very satisfying and easy to apply – very much like a child’s crayon, and it’s more resilient than the gloss finish.

Unlike the raspberry pink shades I’ve gravitated towards in the past, Cruella doesn’t require any other make-up to make my face look polished – result! The sticks cost £17 each so they aren’t the cheapest, but if you’re looking for an ‘investment lip product’, if such a thing exists…

Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil swatch

4 Comments

Filed under beauty

4 responses to “Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

  1. I love Nars products, I just wish I could afford more of them! This is such a fab colour, I will have to keep my eye out for it!

    Maria xxx

  2. Pingback: Rock The Week | shipshapeandbristolfashion

  3. Sazzle Dazzle you are so lucky to be able to wear just lipstick and look gorge. Gonna throw paper aeroplanes at you from my desk now xxxx

  4. Pingback: NARS Guy Bourdin Promiscuous Lip Pencil Coffret | shipshapeandbristolfashion

Leave a comment