What I Found at Judy’s Vintage Kilo Sale

Mint green spotty dress

A few weeks ago I popped along to Judy’s Vintage Kilo Sale at Bristol’s Paintworks, so I figured it was about time I shared what I got my hands on.

As I mentioned in my previous post, the vintage stock dated from the 1970s through to the 1990s. I had my eye on 70s printed dresses and although most of the rails contained seasonally appropriate jumpers, jackets and coats, I wasn’t disappointed.

First up is the mint green spotty dress, above, which is a very simple shape and will be perfect for spring. There are a couple of tiny holes along the elasticated waist which will need seeing too, but other than that it’s in pretty good condition.

Blue pleated St Bernard dress

I’ve taken to calling this blue pleated dress my Margaret Thatcher dress – imagine it with a box clutch and some leather court shoes – though I doubt Maggie would have worn a dress by St. Bernard. After a quick Google of the label, I found that it’s parent retail brand is Dunnes, an Irish chain that was founded in the 40s and lists M&S, Debenhams and Penneys as its rivals. It’s a little on the big side so will need styling with heels and waist-cinching belt, or possibly taking in, to have a hope of demonstrating that I actually have a waist.

Pale yellow bouquet dress collage

Next up is this beautiful pale yellow pleated dress. The downside of the kilo sale was a distinct lack of changing rooms, so I picked this up and hoped for the best. Unfortunately it’s a little too tight at the moment but I’m hoping to wriggle into it in time for my friend Laura’s wedding next summer, if not sooner.

Cream butterfly top and tartan pleated skirt

This pleated tartan skirt fits like a glove and was the first thing I was drawn to when I arrived at the sale, hosted at The Paintworks. I paired it with this sporty cream knitted tank, which I also found there – I think I’d prefer it without the pair of cornflower blue butterflies, but it’s so unique I couldn’t walk away from it.

Blue floral dress with Zara cowboy boots

As soon as I clapped eyes on this blue and pink floral dress I was in love. I’m normally put off by dresses that have a baggy top half (does anyone know what this style is called?) as they typically don’t suit anyone over a B cup, but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried this on. I think I like it because it reminds me of the vintage dress I found in Motel last year – I’m such a sucker for florals!

Red collarless box jacket with paisley detailing

Finally,  just when I thought I’d seen everything Judy’s Vintage Kilo Sale had to offer, I spotted this red collarless box jacket, complete with shoulder pads and silk paisley trim. I know this won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but it scrubs up pretty well when teamed with black skinny jeans and a simple white t-shirt, honest!

Not bad for £40, eh? I also found a winter jumper (currently at the dry cleaners) and a claret and navy dress, not pictured, which I’m looking forward to wearing this winter. To find your local Judy’s Kilo Sale, visit their events page. Judy’s are coming back to Bristol in November – see you there?

P.S. If the age or, er, aroma has ever put you off buying second hand or vintage clothing, check out my guide to washing vintage clothes for Oxfam – it’s a doddle and will have your vintage finds smelling as good as new!

Bloglovin |Twitter | Facebook

17 Comments

Filed under vintage, vintage fair

17 responses to “What I Found at Judy’s Vintage Kilo Sale

  1. Wow what amazing finds! LOVE that yellow dress, the Thatcher dress and that red jacket – to die for!

    http://www.mancunianvintage.com

  2. Love these finds…I was at the Judy’s Edinburgh Vintage Nation fair, fantastic fun!

  3. Great post! I went once but didn’t find gems like that!!!

  4. Oh man, I NEVER find anything this nice at vintage fairs, I’m jealous of your bargain hunting skillz!

    Maria xxx

  5. Eeeep, lots of cute bits but the yellow dress is my fave – paws crossed you can wear it soon, it’s so lovely! ❤

  6. My goodness, what a haul, I love them all. I’m especially jealous of that tweed skirt and the adorable pleated summer dress. I love the way you’ve shown them on the hanger and then modelled. Sometimes it’s hard to visualise how things will look (especially vintage) but you’ve picked some smashers and look great in them too! I must get myself to a Judy’s sale one day.

    • Thanks Kat! I agree it’s tricky to see what’s what when a garment is just hung on a hanger (though all my old posts used to feature clothes like that!) I’d definitely recommend keeping an eye out for kilo sales in your area – the thrill is in the chase, or in this case the rummage 🙂

  7. Pingback: Rock The Week | shipshapeandbristolfashion

  8. Pingback: Zara goes to Berlin | shipshapeandbristolfashion

  9. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Outfit Posts | shipshapeandbristolfashion

Leave a comment