Five Alternatives to Pink Princess Coats

Five Alternatives to Pink Princess Coats

Camel and faux leather coat – Zara  /Plum funnel neck coat – Jaeger  / Mustard yellow boucle wool coat  – River Island / 1970 Soul  straight cut blue coat  – Reiss / Orange boucle coat – French Connection

As much as I loved Raf Simon’s princess pink swan-song at Jil Sander (A/w 2012), the whole over-sized, pastel pink, dropped shoulder, Grace Kelly-esque thang isn’t my cup of tea. The show was nothing short of beautiful and when Carven, Mulberry and Celine followed suit with pink coats for A/w 2013, I knew the trend would stick.

I appreciate the sugary sweetness of it all, but pastel, powder, blush or fuchsia; pink just doesn’t suit me. And what’s more, I don’t even like it.

Yep, that’s right, this blog might be covered in the pink stuff but it’s not my favourite colour by a long stretch, partly because it was always a colour I was encouraged to like growing up because ‘you’re a girl’. Pink is now such a loaded hue that apart from the design on this blog, I tend to avoid it at all costs.

I’ve seen a gazillion pink winter coat options on the high street, compiled on wishlists and featured in blog posts (my fave being Amy’s round up), but what I haven’t seen is some decent alternatives.

Above is a selection of five beautiful high street winter coats for the pink-phobic like me. Are you pining for a pink coat this season or does one of these take your fancy?

Bloglovin |Twitter | Facebook

4 Comments

Filed under shopping

4 responses to “Five Alternatives to Pink Princess Coats

  1. Yep, I’m not a fan of pink either…well, unless it’s in my hair that is. I don’t actually have a proper winter coat; they seem so grown up to me – I prefer to wrap up in my leather jacket and pile on the scarves but I’m never quite warm enough so I clearly need to invest in one. I’m very tempted to try the Zara one with the faux leather sleeves!

  2. I like pink, however my boyfriend doesn’t think it suits me much so I don’t tend to wear a lot of it. I think the most pink I own is a powder pink fluffy jumper! I like the pink coat trend, but don’t think I will succumb to it – I bought myself a rather lovely mint green one on ebay for £20 instead.
    I like your picks, especially number 3! I really like boyfriend fit coats. xx

  3. I’ve seen way too many pink coats this season – pretty over it now! Love this selection of alternatives especially the mustard and orange ones. Bright coats are the best!

    p.s. I’m new to your blog but it’s awesome! going to bloglovin you now. xx

  4. I’m not into pink coats either! They look awesome on some girls but they just aren’t for me. I’d much rather where that plum one!

Leave a Reply

