Outfit Post: Nautical but nice…

Red Hey Dude shoes from Surfdome

Oh come on, with an outfit like this I didn’t have much choice did I? Despite the fact I think at least three posts in previous years must have bared the same title, I can’t help but reach for the seafaring puns when I wear an outfit like this.

Summer brings out the maritime nature of Bristol, with the Harbour Festival, warm evenings spent drinking next to the harbourside and Sunday walks across the Suspension Bridge. Despite there being a slight chill in the air recently, and the bombardment of A/W13 fashion stories in magazines and ‘back to school’ adverts on TV, I haven’t given up on this year’s summer just yet, so I’m making the most of dresses like this one from Mango.

Hey Dude shoes and Mango dress

I picked it up in the sale a couple of years ago when I was going through a stripe phase and these days it only comes out when the weather heats up. I’ve been looking for a pair of deck shoes to go with it for a while and I couldn’t resist this Hey Dude pair, sent to me by Surfdome.

The cherry red colour and contrasting bright white laces marry perfectly with the nautical theme of the dress, mirrored in the stripy lining of the shoes. The best thing about said shoes, by a brand I hadn’t heard of before perusing the Surfdome website, is how flippin’ comfortable they are – with cushioning inner soles and non-slip sloes. I appreciate that last sentence probably aged me by about fifty years, but when it comes to footwear practicality wins for me every time.

While these shoes may not actually be suitable for sailing, they tick the box for my love of all things nautical and will add a colourful boost to future outfits.

Are you a fan of the nautical look? Share your thoughts below…

White and navy dress – Mango / Red Hey Dude deck shoes – c/o Surfdome

Nautical dress and deck shoes

Bloglovin |Twitter | Facebook

9 Comments

Filed under outfits

9 responses to “Outfit Post: Nautical but nice…

  1. those shoes are amazing! x

  2. I love nautical loafers! These are so cute in red and look perfect with your stripey dress. I bet they’re really comfy too. 🙂

    Xo

  3. I’m a fan of any flats: moccasins, loafers, ballerinas and indeed boat shoes. Your nautical outfit really suits you. Your hair looks amazing – I love red with navy stripes.

  4. those shoes are the cutest! and nothing would have worked better with them than a “nautical but nice” striped dress 🙂

  5. This is such a cute outfit! Love the shoes, and the dress is fab!

  6. Pingback: Rock The Week | shipshapeandbristolfashion

Leave a Reply

