Consumed by Clothes

RIH consumed by clothes

Sometimes I wonder why I write about certain topics and other times I feel like I was born to put pen to paper, or fingers to the keyboard as is more often the case. My current article for Running in Heels is a mix of the two. I know I’m happy writing about clothes (God knows I have enough) but this time I took on the topic of what to do when you have too many clothes.

Just like the fictional Rebecca Bloomwood of the Shopaholics novels, who is something of a hypocrite when it comes to lecturing others on their finances, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel hypocritical giving advice on how to manage under a mountain of clothes.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do try very hard to keep my closet in check but it isn’t easy and takes discipline. Especially when my wardrobe isn’t big enough to cope with my shopping addiction. I fully believe that even with Carrie Bradshaw’s ridiculous wardrobe from the SATC movie I would still struggle to fit in all my bags, shoes and dresses. However, one really must practice what one preaches so if you’ll excuse me I need to tidy up my chest of drawers…

3 Comments

Filed under Running in Heels

3 responses to “Consumed by Clothes

  1. Hi! Hi!- so happy you were part of Ann’s IFB discussion 🙂

    Wonderful article!!! I totally have this struggle. I feel like my closet is bursting at the seams…always!!! Do you really keep to the buy 1, chuck 1?! That is amazing!!

    Anyhow, instead of chucking, have you heard of the site smashion.com? I just discovered it a few months ago and have started slowly selling my closet there.

  2. Thanks littlelala! I do my best to keep to the ‘buy 1, chuck 1’ rule but if all else fails I put all my unloved clothes into a bag and hide it at the back of the wardrobe for 6 months – if I haven’t taken anything out of it within that time I take it straight to the charity shop without looking inside : )

    Not heard of smashion.com but will have to check it out – so long as I don’t end up buying more things for myself it could be rather useful.

Leave a Reply

